MCCC TV Program Students Win Two Aegis Awards


Lights, cameras, awards! The Television Program at Mercer County Community College has announced that two of its student productions are recipients of Aegis Awards, an annual television production competition for professional companies and schools in the United States and Canada.

A First Place Award in the Student Production category went to the MCTV Club for its live coverage of the 2009 Mercer County High School Basketball Championships in February. Twenty student volunteers produced a four-hour broadcast of boys and girls title games that aired live throughout Mercer County. It was the club's longest and most demanding project of the year.

With a standing-room-only crowd in the MCCC gymnasium, the broadcast allowed a county-wide audience to enjoy the game. Students noted that planning for the broadcast started six weeks in advance and required more than two hours of game day set-up. "We had to think on our feet all day," said technical director Suha Gur. Added director Chrysti Neuman, "We had such a good time."

TV students involved in the project included producer Vibha Patel, director Chrysti Neuman, technical director Suha Gur, field producer Joshua Nulman, graphics operator Chris Chepiga, instant replay and tape operator Joshua Mendelsohn, audio engineer Adam Jayszyn, game camera operators Carla Baylor, Kiara Watkins, Kevin Daniel and Chris Ghaffoor, studio camera operators Matt Rosenberg and Victoria Pace, floor manager Steve Sanchez, teleprompter Roger Carroll, graphic logo designer Chris Moore, and production assistants Neil Brower and Numenee Woodson.

From left, some members of the Basketball Championships crew: Jim Ramm, Craig Coenen Ben Stentz, Adam Jayszyn, Vibha Patel, Suha Gur, Chrysti Neuman, Chris Ghaffoor, Joshua Nulman,
and faculty advisor Steve Voorhees.
Production crew for the Automotive Program video, from left, David Palacios, Cameron Aanonsen and Kenneth Applegate with faculty member Steve Voorhees.
Not pictured: Nnamdi Ezewuiro.

Serving as play-by-play announcers were MCCC faculty member Craig Coenen and former MCCC basketball coaching staff member Ben Stentz. TV Program faculty member Steve Voorhees served as advisor for the production. Voorhees is proud of his students. "The award truly validates these students' tremendous effort," he said.

The second award-winning production was an 11-minute marketing video for the MCCC Automotive Program, which earned an Aegis Finalist Award in the Student Production category. Created by producer David Palacios and crew members Cameron Aanonsen, Kenneth Applegate and Nnamdi Ezewuiro, the video provides high school students interested in careers as automotive technicians with an overview of the MCCC program, which recently expanded its training curriculum. According to Voorhees, the production was an assignment for advanced students who completed the project over a full semester.

Producer Palacios notes that he and his crew developed the script with a high school audience in mind. "Our narrator is a student talking to other students," he said. The crew interviewed the program's staff and current students and also spoke to successful alumni. Automotive Program Coordinator Fred Bassini says the video is highly informative and will be very useful in explaining the program to potential students. Copies of the DVD are available for distribution.

To learn more about MCCC's AAS degree program in Television, click here.

Directions to MCCC

Return to What's New