Graduating Phi Theta Kappa Members Honored


Graduating members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the International Honor Society for two year colleges, were honored in a special ceremony immediately preceding Commencement on May 25.

Pictured in front row, from left, are Diane Ray, Jennifer Seals, Jessica Harhigh, Marie Luisi, Kathy Hasson, Barbara Wethe, Lopamudra Sinhary, Daree Mews, Rita Biney, Victoria Faux, Emmanuel Anim-Danso, Della Slaughter, Deborah Picott, co-advisor Helene Plank and co-advisor Laura Sosa, a faculty member. In back row are Rebecca Testa, Margaret Provine, Barbara Ann Dohrenwend, Elaine Harland, Seven Murray, Whitney Potts, Brian Gale, Peter Rossin, Humberto Solis, Sr., and Margo Kamel.

The graduates, their family members and friends, gathered at Kelsey Theater to hear congratulatory remarks from Acting President Thomas N. Wilfrid and Dean for Enrollment and Student Services Diane Campbell.

Alpha Theta Gamma Chapter President Lynn Rowlands, assisted by PTK co-advisors Laura Sosa and Helene Plank, presented honors regalia to graduates, consisting of gold stoles, blue and gold honor cords, and gold tassels.

Members who had been particularly active in chapter events, based on the organization's hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship and service, were recognized. Achieving one-star status were Lauren Kopkow and Diane Ray. Two-star members included Emmanuel Anim-Danso, Whitney Potts, and Della Slaughter. Three-star recipients were Jennifer DiPersio, Elaine Harland, Lena Hoogendoorn, Deborah Picott, Margaret Provine, Peter Rossin, Jennifer Seals, and Humberto Solis, Sr.

Graduating officers Jessica Harhigh (VP Scholarship), Marie Luisi (VP Leadership), and Barbara Wethe (VP Publicity), all with three-star status, were presented with officer medallions in addition to the other items. Special thanks were rendered to co-advisors Helene Plank and Laura Sosa, as well as well as to supporter Peggy Maliborski.

Home Page

Return to What's New

Directions to MCCC