MCCC's New Nurses: 34 Students Graduate in Spring 2019 Pinning Ceremony


West Windsor, N.J. – Mercer County Community College (MCCC) was filled with white coats and smiling faces on May 13, as the college graduated 34 nurses in its Nursing Education Pinning Ceremony.

Held in Kelsey Theatre, the program included addresses from MCCC President Dr. Jianping Wang and Dr. Robert Schreyer, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs.   

“I’m incredibly fond of our Nursing program,” Schreyer said. “We have dedicated and proud faculty who have prepared our students for all of the forthcoming challenges.”

For the graduates, the next step comes in the form of the National Council Licensure Exam (NCLEX-RN), which tests the individual’s ability to think critically about nursing scenarios. “I can tell these students are ready to ace the exam,” Schreyer added. “They’ve worked tirelessly together to prepare for this moment.”

Kasja Myrén Taub, the 2019 valedictorian, acknowledged that sense of community in her remarks. “It never ceases to amaze me how we were able to support each other,” Taub said. Originally from Sweden, Taub noted that her classmates at Mercer continually gave her a sense of home away from home.

After Taub’s speech Elizabeth Mizerek, MCCC’s Director of Nursing, recognized the college’s May 2019 inductees to the Epsilon Rho Chapter of Alpha Delta Nu, the national nursing honor society established by the Organization for Associate Degree Nursing. Six graduates were inducted: Epsilon Rho Chapter President Kaitlyn Blair, José Bueno Ventura, Jenny Chou, Victoria Fredrick, Jennifer Koehler and Kajsa Myrén Taub.

Additionally, the Nursing Department presented awards to six students who demonstrated excellence during the pursuit of their degrees: Roosevelt Altema (Clinical Excellence), Kelly Audette (Perseverance), Eric Braun (Teamwork), José Bueno Ventura (Professionalism), Jennifer Marco (Caring), Kasja Myrén Taub (Academic Excellence).

Congratulations to all members of the Nursing Class of Spring 2019: Andrea Aleman, Roosevelt Altema, Kelly Audette, Kaitlyn Blair, Eric Braun, José Bueno Ventura, Jenny Chou, Stacey Coleman, Rachel Darbee, Courtney DeLucia, Alaina Dettorre, Anthony Fackenthall, Marisa Falsetti, Yesenia Figueroa, Rachel Fredrick, Victoria Fredrick, Kamila Gromek, Tiffany Guevara, Jennifer Koehler, Maelle Louis-Jean, Jennifer Marko, Maria McGinness, Kajsa Myrén Taub, Morgan Prummer, Joyce Sarpong, Pamela Skaff, Sara Slavin, Elmira Smirnova, Jackie Solages, Alyssa Verderese, Deborah Wesley, Shantell Whyte, Leleah Woodson and Peyton Wulf.

More about MCCC Nursing Program

Return to Current News

MCCC Home Page

Time to celebrate!

Students receiving awards included, from left to right, Kasja Myrén Taub (Academic Excellence); Eric Braun (Teamwork); Jennifer Marco (Caring); Roosevely Altema (Clinical Excellence); José Bueno Ventura (Professionalism); and Kelly Audette (Perseverance). They are pictured with Nursing faculty member Florence Lee, far right.

Lamps were lit as part of the Nightingale Pledge portion of the ceremony.

Four male students were among the graduates. They are, from left, José Bueno Ventura, Anthony Fackenthall, Eric Braun and Roosevelt Altema.