MCCC Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2024 



The 2024 Mercer County Community College Athletic Hall of Fame class has been announced.  The class was announced back in October at the MCCC Golf Classic, but the event got its official kickoff December 5th at the MCCC Conference Center.


Two teams will be entering the 2024 MCCC Athletic Hall of Fame: the 1988 men’s soccer National Championship team and the 2005 women’s tennis National Championship team.


Former players selected for the 2024 Athletic Hall of Fame include softball player Kim Drager, who in addition to earning All-American honors in softball, also played women’s basketball and soccer at MCCC.


Men’s soccer Stern John who earned All-American honors in 1995 and helped lead MCCC to the National title in 1995.  John is the all-time leading scorer in Trinidad and Tobago history with 69 goals in 109 appearances for his country.  John won the MLS (Major League Soccer) Golden Boot in 1998 and was the MLS Scoring Champion that season with the Columbus Crew, scoring 26 goals and finishing with a league-high 57 points.


Women’s basketball player Kenya Taylor is the only two-time All-American in MCCC women’s basketball program history.  Taylor was an All-American in 1999 and 2000.


Other inductees include men’s basketball player Joe McKeown who played in 1974-1976, baseball player Stu Foulks and women’s soccer player Cynthia Soffel, who played from 1982-1984.  McKeown is the current Head Women’s Basketball Coach at Northwestern University.  McKeown was a member of the 33-1 MCCC men’s basketball team that reached the title game in 1976.  Foulks was drafted by the New York Mets in the 2nd round of the 1982 MLB Draft and played at Jacksonsville University.  Soffel went on to play on the first ever women’s soccer team at Rutgers University in 1984.


The final inductee is longtime Volunteer Assistant Coach for men’s soccer, John Pietrowski, who has been coaching the Vikings since 1994 and has helped lead MCCC to three national titles.


The 2024 MCCC Athletic Hall of Fame will take place on June 1, 2024 at the Princeton Marriott at Forrestal Village from 6:00-10:00 PM.


For more information on the MCCC Athletic Hall of Fame, visit:


AHOF Dec 24 

L to R: Al Leister (Class of 2021 Inductee), Barb Pleva (Class of 2021 Inductee), John Pietrowski (Class of 2024 Inductee), Lisa Camillone (Class of 2021 Inductee), Mickey Forker (Class of 2021 Inductee), Assmeblyman Anthony Verrelli (Class of 2023 Inductee), and Stu Foulks (Class of 2024 Inductee)