E-Bully E-Bulletin
Calendar Latest news News Archive www.mccc.edu

Production Companies that Perform at MCCC's Kelsey Theatre Receive Eight Perry Awards


West Windsor, N.J. – It was a banner night for theater companies that perform at Mercer County Community College’s Kelsey Theatre.  After being nominated for 27 Perry Awards by the New Jersey Association of Community Theaters (NJACT) for shows performed during the 2011-12 season, the groups were awarded eight Perry Awards at a ceremony held on Sept. 9. 

Kelsey Theatre Artistic Director M. Kitty Getlik was among the winners, receiving Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical (“AIDA”). “I am truly honored to receive this acknowledgement,” said Getlik. “We had a terrific team working at the theater this past season, and it’s great to see them get recognized.”

Other winners included John Maurer and his production crew, who won three awards.

Maurer Productions was awarded a 2012 Perry Award for its production of “AIDA,” in the category of Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical.  Pictured from left are Perry Award winners Kathy Slothower, Diana Maurer, John Maurer, and Laurie Gougher.  Not pictured is Tina Heines.  Photo by Robert Gougher

They included Outstanding Scenic Design of a Play (“Laughter on the 23rd Floor”), Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical (“AIDA”), and Outstanding Production of a Musical (“AIDA”).

Alycia Bauch received two awards: Outstanding Properties for a Play (“Laughter on the 23rd Floor”) and Outstanding Properties for a Musical (“AIDA”). In addition, Judi Parrish was awarded Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical (“Drowsy Chaperone”). Pennington Players' Beverly Kuo-Hamilton received the award for Outstanding Stage Manager (“13 The Musical”).

The NJACT Perry Awards are given annually for outstanding achievements in community theater.

Pictured are cast members of Maurer Productions' "AIDA," which won four 2012 Perry Awards, including Outstanding Production of a Musical. Pictured front, from left are Cheryl King, Sheilla Telo Kraft, Beverly Kuo Hamilton, and Jane Coult. Pictured back, from left are Yakenya Moise, Alexa Lupinacci, Meera Mohan, Leia Rochester, Kimberly Suskind, and Melissa Geerloff. Also among the night's winners was Pennington Players' Beverly Kuo-Hamilton, who won Outstanding Stage Manager for “13 The Musical”. Photo by Robert Gougher

NJACT member theaters submit their shows for award consideration. Two reviewers attend each production and evaluate all aspects of the performance, including 50 different criteria across 10 review categories. More than 200 shows produced by theater companies around the state are submitted each year, with 33 award winners chosen.

For a full list of nominees and award winners, visit the NJACT website.

Return to Current News

Return to Kelsey Theatre Website

MCCC Home Page