Got SPA?

Hint: Who are those three faces?

Philosophy S.P.A. Club

The Philosophy S.P.A. Club is a spa of reason where the philosophical ideas and methods from the tradition of Socrates, Plato and Aristotle and their transcultural predecesors and successors are explored and applied to everyday life. Student led activities include hosting and attending lectures by faculty and student philosophers; discussion forums on ethics, metaphysics, contemporary issues and films; debates, conscientious projects and peer tutoring and more!

Philosophy S.P.A. Club Fall 2013

~ Civil Discourse Series Discussion Forums ~

 

 Why… not??

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, September 9, 2013, LA-108

Open Forum

           12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, September 16, 2013, LA-108

Open Forum – Officer Elections

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, September 23, 2013, LA-108

Technology & Ethics

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, September 30, 2013, LA-108

Privacy, Citizenship & Personhood

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, October 7, 2013, LA-108

What are we up to and up for here at Mercer?  a 4C event

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, October 14, 2013, Cafeteria – Student Center

Moral Choices/Ethics classes – All PHI-204/205 Sections

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday October 21, 2013  LA-108

Wisdom, Ideology & Religion

           12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday October 28, 2013  LA-108

Philosophy – All PHI-102 Sections Discussion Forum

          12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, November 4, 2013  LA-108

Do We Really Not have Freewill?

          12:00pm – 1:00pm Monday, November 11, 2013  LA-108

Coming soon…   Human Trafficking in Mercer County & Beyond

Philosophy S.P.A. Club Spring 2013

~ Discussion Forums ~

 

Civil Discourse Series -  Guns: Rights and Wrongs?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, March 13, 2013, LA-109

Civil Discourse Series -  Smoking: Lights and Bongs?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, March 27, 2013, LA-109

 

Moral Choices – All PHI-205 Sections Discussion Forum

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday April 3, 2013  LA-109

Philosophy – All PHI-102 Sections Discussion Forum

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday April 10, 2013  LA-109

 

Civil Discourse Series -  Human Trafficking in Mercer County & Beyond

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, April 17, 2013, LA-109

Civil Discourse Series -  Love & Hate Groups in New Jersey

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, April 24, 2013, LA-109

 

Moral Choices – All PHI-205 Sections Discussion Forum

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday May 1, 2013  LA-109

Philosophy – All PHI-102 Sections Discussion Forum

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday May 8, 2013  LA-109

Civil Discourse Series

Philosophy S.P.A. Club Fall 2012 ~ Discussion Forums ~

 

Philosophy of Labor/Work

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday September 19, 2012  LA-108

Where are the Philosophers?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday October 3, 2012, LA-108

Citizenship – A Right, Duty, Pain or Myth?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday October 10, 2012, LA-108

Hinduism with Vineet Chandler from the Princeton Hindu Satsangam

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday October 17, 2012, LA-108

Where are the Women Philosophers?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday October 24, 2012, LA-108

Do We Live More in an Economy, Nation, World or What?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday October 31, 2012, LA-108

Sikhism with Kehsav Singh from the Sikhs of Princeton

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday November 7, 2012, LA-108

Where are the African-American Philosophers?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday November 14, 2012, LA-108

Where are the Hispanic Philosophers?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday November 28, 2012, LA-108

Where are the Homosexual Philosophers?

            12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday December 5, 2012, LA-108

 

Spring 2012

Civil Discourse Series

Forums Sponsored by

Philosophy S.P.A. Club

On BS - Based on Princeton Philosophy Professor H.G. Frankfurt’s Book!

                 (We’re not   BS-ing you!)

     12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday February 8, 2012  LA-109

 

On Conspiracy Theories - Hosted by the Dread (cons)Pirate Roberts!

                 Or not?

    12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday March 7, 2012  LA-147

 

Abortion's Abortions

    12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, Wednesday March 28, 2012 LA-147

 

Hoodie-Winked? UnDue Processes & Trayvon Martin

    1200pm-100pm Wednesday, April 4, 2012  LA-147

 

Are Our Rights Wrong?

    12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, April 11, 2012  LA-147

 

Hunger Games- About What

              Does Katniss Have Our Tongues?

    12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, April 18, 2012  LA-147

                                                                         

On the Philosophy of Hate  

    12-1pm Wednesday, April 25, 2012 LB-200

        @ The Holocaust/Genocide Center

Co-Sponsored with the Phi Theta Gamma International Honor Society at MCCC & The Mercer County Holocaust/Genocide Resource Center, which is located at Mercer County Community College's West Windsor, NJ campus, on the second floor of the Library (LB) building next to the  bookstore – Room LB-200

On the Philosophy of Love

    12:00pm – 1:00pm Wednesday, May 3, 2012  LA-147

                   Students, Faculty and Staff Welcome!

Fall 2011

Civil Discourse Series

Forums Sponsored by

Philosophy S.P.A. Club

 

Second-hand Knowledge and the Limits of Testimony

Wednesday 9/28 12-100pm LA-108

The Issues  of “Occupy Wall Street”

Wednesday, 10/26 12-100pm LA-108

Free Expression & Dress @ Mercer - Swastikas, "Jungles" & Sagging Pants    Wednesday, 11/9 12-100pm LA-108

 

On Altruism w ith Prof. Grant Wadley

Wednesday, 12/7 12-100pm LA-108

   

Know What?!

Bring your Lunch, Beverages will be provided!

Students, Faculty and Staff Welcome!

Check out our Facebook page!

Search: The Philosophy SPA Club